Use Google to find help fast. For example, search on "xpressdox choosefromlist".

Force saving of merged documents

Force saving of merged documents

The configuration and Advanced file handling features describe different ways in which a template author can provide both a folder and a file name for the merged document produced when a template is run.

What those articles do not mention is that when the file name of the merged document is provided either in the configuration, or using the <<SetSavedDocumentFileName()>> command, then XpressDox will save that merged document regardless of whether or not the user checks the Save Merged Document? check box on the data capture interview for that template.

That means that if you, as template author, want the merged document to be saved, then just set the document file name with the SetSavedDocumentFileName command (or in the Pattern for saved file name field in the configuration), and the merged document will be saved automatically by XpressDox.

Leave a Reply